OCN Storm Celebrates Central Canada Cup Junior B Championship

OCN Storm champions pose for a photo with the Central Canada Cup

On April 23, the OCN Storm Hockey Club were victorious in their 2023 season finale game, making them champions of the Central Canada Cup in the Keystone Junior B Hockey League.

OCN Storm captain Chevez Constant scored the winning goal in the third period for a 6-3 win against the Schreibr Falcons at the Thunder Bay Tournament Centre. The efforts of each OCN Storm member resulted in a heart-racing season finale game.

Following their big win, Opaskwayak Chief and Council held a welcome home BBQ event at Gordon Lathlin Memorial Centre on April 24 where they served complimentary burgers, hotdogs and cake.

The celebration began with an opening prayer before Chief Sidney Ballantyne and council members greeted everyone. The OCN Storm President Mike Jebb Jr., OCN Storm General Manager Jeremy Hohn Sr., Constant and other staff members also spoke.

“I’m so proud of these young men,” says Hohn. “It is awesome to see them honoured for their accomplishments.” 

“I’m so proud of these young men. It is awesome to see them honoured for their accomplishments.”
– OCN Storm General Manager Jeremy Hohn Sr.

Shoutouts and Thank Yous

Congratulations to the OCN Storm Hockey Club on an exceptional hockey season and championship win! We would like to especially acknowledge retiring players Constant, Blaine Dorion and Troy Head for their dedication to the team in their last year on the OCN Storm.

We’d like to give a big shoutout to OCN Storm coach Marcel Fontaine for guiding and training the team to the Central Canada Cup championship. We appreciate his commitment to the team and thank Fontaine for his final season as coach.

We want to share our gratitude to Hohn who announced this will be his last year as general manager. We are grateful for his 11 years of hard work.

Thank you, finally, to everyone who came to celebrate OCN Storm’s win with Opaskwayak Chief and Council. Please enjoy the pictures we captured during the celebration below.

2022-2023 Roster

Goaltenders: Freddy Martin and Nolan Sinclair Jr.

Defensemen: Captain Chavez Constant, Dravin Ballantyne, Carson Clemons, Damon Constant, Milan Constant, Jeritt Cowley, Roger Houle JR, and Gabe Thibeault.

Forwards: Ron Campbell, Lazarus Constant, Blaine Dorion, Rowan Fenner, Troy Head, Keilan Holland, Hutton Hurst-Foster, Harlan Jacobson, Ezekiel Kirkness, Domi Leask, Logan Marr, Chase McLeod, Waylon Munroe Jr, Drew Peter, and Nathan Stevens.

General Manager: Jeremy Hohn Sr.

Coach: Marcel Fontaine

Assistant Coaches: JR Cruz and Anthony Keeper Jr.

Trainer: Paul Personius Jr.

Written by Serena Chommany
Featured image photo credit: Keystone Junior Hockey League